• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube

Tokyo Forum 2021

Tokyo Forum Shaping The Future
Tokyo Forum Shaping The Future
Tokyo Forum Shaping The Future

Over View

Science has shown a remarkable development in recent years and has made our lives increasingly convenient and efficient, for example through the expansion of the internet or remote medical treatment using AI.
However, it is ironic that in some ways we feel more anxious as a result of scientific development. The digital divide has widened. More people and information cross national boundaries causing anxiety in local communities. People’s confidence in science was seriously undermined by the nuclear accident in Fukushima and many people now even deny the words of experts on climate change or COVID-19. Can human beings control AI, or are we going to be controlled by it?
Anxiety fuels exclusive nationalism in people’s minds. Competition between major powers intensifies, forcing countries in between to make difficult choices. Science has once again become a tool for international contention rather than a common good shared by the human race.
How can we develop science and at the same time explain and cope with the new apprehension it causes in our minds? How can we promote science rather as a means for encouraging and uniting people on a global scale? Let us investigate this multifaceted question from interdisciplinary perspectives.

SCHEDULE

DAY1
Thursday 2, December
Opening for First Day

20:00 - 20:10(JST) / 11:00 - 11:10(GMT) / 06:00 - 06:10(EST)

President, The University of Tokyo

20:10 - 20:20(JST) / 11:10 - 11:20(GMT) / 06:10 - 06:20(EST)

Chairman, SK Group

20:20 - 20:40(JST) / 11:20 - 11:40(GMT) / 06:20 - 06:40(EST)

Dean, Yale College
Richard M. Colgate Professor
Psychology; Neuroscience; Cognitive Science
Yale University

20:40 - 21:00(JST) / 11:40 - 12:00(GMT) / 06:40 - 07:00(EST)

Architect
University Professor and Professor Emeritus
The University of Tokyo

21:05 - 21:55(JST) / 12:05 - 12:55(GMT) / 07:05 - 07:55(EST)

Science and Humanities

Executive Vice President and Professor, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, The University of Tokyo

Member, Japan Academy
President, International Professional University of Technology in Tokyo and Osaka

Head of the Department of Science Technology Studies
Head of the Research Platform Research and Innovation in Academic Practice
University of Vienna

22:00 - 22:55(JST) / 13:00 - 13:55(GMT) / 08:00 - 08:55(EST)

Global Commons Stewardship Based on Science and Empathy

Executive Vice President
Director, Center for Global Commons
The University of Tokyo

President, UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network Director, Center for Sustainable Development, Columbia University

Director, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK) and Professor, Earth System Science, University of Potsdam

Founder and Senior Partner, SystemIQ

President & CEO, World Resources Institute (WRI)

Under Secretary General of the United Nations and Executive Secretary of the ECA, Economic Commission for Africa, UNECA

Business leader, Campaigner and Co-author of “Net Positive: How Courageous Companies Thrive by Giving more than They Take”

Closing
DAY2
Friday 3, December

20:00 - 20:05(JST) / 11:00 - 11:05(GMT) / 06:00 - 06:05(EST)

Opening for Second Day

20:05 - 20:50(JST) / 11:05 - 11:50(GMT) / 06:05 - 06:50(EST)

Trust Building for Collective Actions

Professor, Graduate School of Agricultural and Life Sciences, The University of Tokyo

Professor of Government, Faculty of Arts and Sciences, Harvard University

Director, Office of Environmental Management and Mineral Resources
International Seabed Authority

20:55 - 21:45(JST) / 11:55 - 12:45(GMT) / 06:55 - 07:45(EST)

Toward Building Trustworthy AI and Society with Mutual Respect

Associate Professor, Institute for Future Initiatives, The University of Tokyo

CEO, Partnership on AI

Professor
School of Computing
Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST)

Former Director, IIT Hyderabad
Chancellor, Anurag University, Hyderabad
Chancellor, ICFAI University Dehradun
Honorary Distinguished Professor, Plaksha University

Professor
Director, Institute of Science and Ethics
University of Bonn

20:55 - 21:45(JST) / 11:55 - 12:45(GMT) / 06:55 - 07:45(EST)

The Resilient Brain: Mental Health in Balance with Society and Planet

Special Advisor to the Director, IRCN
Professor Emeritus
The University of Tokyo
Vice-President, The Japanese Association of Medical Sciences
Vice-President, The Japanese Medical Science Federation

Director, IRCN (UTIAS)
Professor, Molecular & Cellular Biology
Professor, Neurology (Boston Children’s Hospital)
Harvard University

Professor, Faculty of Medicine, The University of Tokyo
Principal Investigator, IRCN

Professor, Social & Behavioral Sciences, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

Founder and Director, Center for Healthy Minds, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Professor, Faculty of Psychology and Education Sciences, University of Geneva

21:50 - 22:40(JST) / 12:50 - 13:40(GMT) / 07:50 - 08:40(EST)

Technology and Human Nature

Professor, Graduate School of Information Science and Technology, The University of Tokyo

Professor, Interfaculty Initiative in Information Studies, The University of Tokyo

Executive Director, Global Privacy & Security by Design Centre

Writer and Futurologist
President, The Positive Planet Foundation

21:50 - 22:40(JST) / 12:50 - 13:40(GMT) / 07:50 - 08:40(EST)

Anxiety Among International Relations Caused by the Progress of Science and Technology

Professor, Graduate School of Public Policy, The University of Tokyo

Director, Centre for Security, Strategy and Technology (CSST), Observer Research Foundation

Director of Strategic Partnerships and Communications, Secure World Foundation

Senior Researcher, Project Ploughshares

22:45 - 23:30(JST) / 13:45 - 14:30(GMT) / 08:45 - 09:30(EST)

Professor, Graduate School of Agricultural and Life Sciences, The University of Tokyo

Chief of Science, Data and Systems Change, Bezos Earth Fund

Researcher, Stockholm Resilience Centre

Student, Mathematics Department, Pomona College

Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology, Yale University

Associate Professor, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, The University of Tokyo

Project Assistant Professor, Graduate School of Public Policy, The University of Tokyo

23:30 - 23:40(JST) / 14:30 - 14:40(GMT) / 09:30 - 09:40(EST)

President, The University of Tokyo

President, Chey Institute for Advanced Studies
Former Ambassador, Permanent Representative to the United Nations
Former President, Korea Foundation for Advanced Studies

2021 Tokyo Forum

STEERING COMMITTEE

Co-Chairs

FUJII Teruo President, The University of Tokyo
PARK In-Kook President, Chey Institute for Advanced Studies

Members

AIHARA Hiroaki Executive Vice President, The University of Tokyo
SEKIMURA Naoto Vice President, The University of Tokyo
TAKAHARA Akio Professor, The University of Tokyo
KIMIYA Tadashi Professor, The University of Tokyo
CHOI Incheol Professor, Seoul National University
JEONG Jong Ho Professor, Seoul National University
HYEON Taeghwan Professor, Seoul National University
SOHN Jie-Ae Professor, Ewah Womans University and Advisor, Chey Institute for Advanced Studies

ACADEMIC COMITTEE

Chair

TAKAHARA Akio Professor, The University of Tokyo

Members

AIHARA Hiroaki Executive Vice President, The University of Tokyo
SEKIMURA Naoto Vice President, The University of Tokyo
KIMIYA Tadashi Professor, The University of Tokyo
FUJIWARA Kiichi Professor, The University of Tokyo
NANGAKU Masaomi Professor, The University of Tokyo
OKI Taikan Professor, The University of Tokyo
OGUMA Kumiko Associate Professor, The University of Tokyo
SHIRAHASE Sawako Professor, The University of Tokyo
OGIHARA Naomichi Professor, The University of Tokyo
FUJIWARA Toru Professor, The University of Tokyo
HOSHI Takeo Professor, The University of Tokyo
FUJIGAKI Yuko Executive Vice President, The University of Tokyo
OHSUGI Miho Professor, The University of Tokyo
HONDA Yuki Professor, The University of Tokyo
TOMITA Taisuke Professor, The University of Tokyo
KAWAZUMI Nariya Professor, The University of Tokyo
ASAI Kiyoshi Professor, The University of Tokyo
SUDA Reiji Professor, The University of Tokyo
HAYASHI Kaori Executive Vice President, The University of Tokyo
KOSHIZUKA Noboru Professor, The University of Tokyo
OHASHI Hiroshi Professor, The University of Tokyo
NAKAJIMA Takahiro Professor, The University of Tokyo
KISHI Toshiharu Vice President, The University of Tokyo
WATANABE Masahiro Professor, The University of Tokyo
MINO Takashi Project Professor, The University of Tokyo
YOKOYAMA Hiromi Professor, The University of Tokyo
ISHII Naoko Executive Vice President, The University of Tokyo
SHIROYAMA Hideaki Professor, The University of Tokyo
EMA Arisa Associate Professor, The University of Tokyo
YEOM Jaeho Former President, Korea University
LEE Eun-Ju Professor, Seoul National University
YEE Jaeyeol Professor, Seoul National University
HONG Yongtaek Professor, Seoul National University
CHEONG Hyeonsik Professor, Sogang University
YUN Sai Ree Honorary Managing Partner, Yulchon LLC
LEE Sukjae Professor, Seoul National University
LEE Jae-Seung Dean, Graduate School of International Studies, Korea University
JAUNG Hoon Professor, Chung Ang University
KIM Sea Hwa Professor, Ewha Womans University
expand_less